2023 Cup MTN8 Fixtures, Dates, And Teams

The 2023 Wafa Wafa MTN8 Cup promises to be an exciting tournament, featuring 8 top teams in South Africa. With a rich history dating back to its inception in 1972, the tournament has seen a number of past winners etch their names in the record books.

Fans can look forward to a host of thrilling fixtures, as the teams battle it out for the coveted title. In this article, we’ll take a look at the participating teams, the fixtures, and the dates for this year’s tournament, as well as some of the past winners who have left their mark on the competition.

The eight MTN8 candidates have already been announced, and the campaign for this year is likely to be thrilling.

The Premier Soccer League season begins on Friday, August 4, while the MTN8 season begins the following weekend, with the four quarterfinals scheduled for the weekends of August 12 and 13.

What is the MTN8 tournament?

2023 Cup MTN8 Fixtures, Dates, Teams and Past winners

The MTN8 tournament is a South African football competition that features the top eight teams from the previous Premier Soccer League season.

The football season begins with this eagerly anticipated competition, which offers fans thrilling games and heated rivalries. The competition, which is sponsored by telecommunications behemoth MTN, has grown in popularity as a staple on the football calendar in South Africa.

Teams that placed in the top half of the PSL standings the previous season are chosen to compete. Usually, the PSL games don’t start until after the MTN8 quarterfinal matches have been completed.

When it first began in 1972, this tournament was known as the BP Top8, then the SAA Supa 8 due to changes in the title sponsor, and since 2008, it has been known as the MTN8.

Add This Knowledge About MTN8 Cup

Orlando Pirates are the MTN8 defending champions after winning it last season during Jose Roveiro’s debut season in South Africa.

The Buccaneers, who won this competition for the first time in 1972 upon its establishment, claimed their 11th MTN8 championship.

With 15 championships won since they first won it in 1974, the Chiefs are still the most successful team in this sport.

However, Amakhosi has not raised the MTN8 since 2014.

With four victories, Sundowns is the team with the third-most championships, behind Swallows and SuperSport who have each won it three times.

Check the 2023/24 season MTN8 Teams contestants

Mamelodi Sundowns, the PSL winners, is one of the eight clubs already confirmed to compete in the MTN8 next season.

Sekhukhune United and Swallows FC managed to sneak into the top eight after spending the majority of the season fighting to avoid relegation, and they are now battling for the season’s first trophy.

  1. Mamelodi Sundowns
  2. Orlando Pirates
  3. SuperSport United
  4. Cape Town City
  5. Kaizer Chiefs
  6. Stellenbosch FC
  7. Sekhukhune United
  8. Swallows FC

2023 Cup MTN8 Fixtures And Dates

On the final day of the previous season, when the PSL season came to an end, the 2023–24 MTN8 schedule was made public.

The league champions are paired with the group that placed eighth in the standings, and the draw happens automatically. The pattern continues as the PSL runners-up take against the team in seventh position.

  • On August 12, 2023, at Lucas “Masterpieces” Moripe Stadium, Mamelodi Sundowns will take on Moroka Swallows FC.
  • On August 12, 2023, at Orlando Stadium, at 18:00, Orlando Pirates will play Sekhukhune United.
  • On August 13, 2023, at Athlone Stadium, at 15:00, SuperSport United will play host to Stellenbosch FC.
  • On August 13, 2023, at Peter Mokaba Stadium, Cape Town City will play Kaizer Chiefs at 18:00.

See Also South Africa Premier League 2023/2024 PSL Fixtures


The PSL has not yet decided on the MTN8 dates, but clubs are already preparing for this competition, thus the PSL is anticipated to publish the match locations and kickoff timings in the next days. The problem is right now.

  • The weekend of August 12 and 13 will see the quarterfinals.
  • The first legs of the semi-finals will occur on the weekend of September 2 and 3.
  • The weekends of September 23 and 24 will see the second legs of the semi-finals.
  • The championship game will be on Saturday, October 7.

PSL confirms 2023 MTN8 semi-final fixtures

Exciting news for soccer fans! The Premier Soccer League (PSL) has officially confirmed the schedule for the MTN8 semi-finals, announced this Sunday evening.

We had a thrilling weekend of quarter-final matches that kicked off with Mamelodi Sundowns besting Moroka Swallows. It was a game that indeed set the tone for the action-packed weekend.

Not to be outdone, defending champions Orlando Pirates showed their prowess with a resounding 5-0 triumph over Sekhukhune United at the Orlando Stadium. A clear message to all, they’re not giving up their title easily!

Sunday’s games were nail-bitingly close. The Kaizer Chiefs had to rally from behind to snatch a victory against Cape Town City at Athlone Stadium. A testament to their fighting spirit and determination.

And let’s not forget Stellenbosch FC, who carved their name into the annals of history by advancing to the semi-finals for the first time ever. Their hard-fought 1-0 extra-time victory over SuperSport United was a sight to behold.

For their gallant efforts, Stellie has been paired against the mighty Buccaneers for the first leg of the semi-finals on their home turf. An intriguing match-up, to say the least!

But the clash that’s undoubtedly stealing the spotlight is the Chiefs renewing their rivalry with Sundowns. This face-off comes hot on the heels of their recent DStv Premiership encounter. Soccer fans, brace yourselves for an epic showdown!

While we eagerly anticipate these games, the PSL will be providing us with the specific dates and venues in due course. Stay tuned!

The Semi-Final Fixtures:

  • Stellenbosch FC vs Orlando Pirates
  • Kaizer Chiefs vs Mamelodi Sundowns


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *